The plan, such as it is . . .

By: Richard T Haines

Mar 23 2009

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Well, here it is, a new blog, for a new plan. On March 21, 2009 I bought a new camera. Not a good camera, not better than what I already used but rather a little 8.0 megapixel, fits in my pocket, not going to break my heart if it’s stolen camera. 

Generally, I bought it for all those times I want a camera on hand without the responsibility of a big bag and a few lenses and all the worry that goes with them. Specifically, I wanted to go to the Weakerthans concert, take pictures and enjoy the show, without taking pictures all night . I wanted to be able to put the camera in my pocket and forget about it and enjoy the show. How did that work out?

Well, I couldn’t keep the camera out of my hand. I took 286 pictures all told. But I was able to put the camera away from time to time, and I didn’t have t worry about it. What’s more, because I lacked all the camera controls I usually concerned myself with I was forced (or should I say allowed) instead to spend more time on composition.

And things worked out pretty damn well. Which brings me to this. I have for a while wanted to force myself to take a picture every day, but burdened as I was with valuable and bulkier cameras I never could. I considered doing one a week, but that doesn’t really do it for me. So here it is, one picture a day, every day. Composition is key, there will be NO cropping of photos. Only one picture a day, always at least one. (Let’s see if I can stick to that) 

Not every day will produce gold (in fact some days, like day two, will suck) but every day will produce.

Leave a Reply

